Ohana Home Education

Home » Teacher's Corner » Half Term

Half Term

Follow Ohana Home Education on WordPress.com

Homeschool Lounge

Topics

Wordle: HEMK

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers

I hardly feel I deserve it, we’ve accomplished so little in terms of verifiable, quantifiable pieces of work this term. We never used to follow the schools term timetable. But somehow, now, I feel I need a break more than ever.

This week and next, Dragon-tamer is home from sixth form college, so it’s nice to have him back again for a little while and I wouldn’t like to waste this special time, since it’s so rare now, in trying to get everybody else to ‘work’.

But I still feel guilty. It seems to me that there’s an enormous amount of guilt attached to motherhood anyway, and doubly so with home education. I can never do quite enough, work quite hard enough, achieve quite the results that will show that homeschooling was the best choice for our family.

But actually when I look at Dragon-tamer, although he’s not as academically advanced as I expected or hoped him to be, I am so pleased and proud of him in other ways: I’m constantly told how polite he is, so well-spoken, so considerate, thoughtful, clever, funny, talented. And I know that academics, or worldly achievements can come later.

When I first started home educating, my priorities were exactly those things. If I had ever had to articulate an ‘ed phil’ document, it would have included things like happiness, and a solid emotional and social foundation above academic achievement and prizes. I have to remind myself these things from time to time.

2 Comments

  1. The Garners says:

    We are taking our week off too. We are organized in 12 week terms with 6 weeks on, and 1 week off. We are supposed to start our third term next week, and I’m still working on the schedule. And we are spending a great deal of this week “catching up.”

    If you had sent your children to public school, you would realize how much richer and more full home school is, and perhaps it would assuage a small bit of your guilt. M eldest went to public school, and was in an advanced program with many benefits, and yet, my younger child will have the better education. I feel guilty that I didn’t homeschool him…

  2. lillbjorne says:

    I think we do the best we can with the knowledge we have at the time and, whatever we do, we still feel guilty!

Leave a Reply

